TUESDAY, DECEMBER 5 2023 :: 8:36PM



BLOG POST #5 :: HOLIDAYS + BIG SITE UPDATES

Hiiiii, howdy!!! Pardon my French, but it's fucking Dember. I've had a busy-ish past month! Here's a little list summary thing-y of stuff I did in November.

1. I spent Thanksgiving with my aunt, uncle, and cousin in New York! It's been years since I'd gone out of town town to celebrate the holidays with family. My aunt and my mom collaborated on dinner and my aunt made this AMAZING mac and cheese and my mom made an apple galette as a part of dessert!

2. The fall semester is almost over for me! As of writing this, I've only got a week left a class. My only problem is I've got a lot of work I need to catch up on...

3. My dad's birthday was on November 3rd! The day after we got to go to Cracker Barrel for brunch!

4. I've made some big updates to the website! Most important is I've started to roll out accessibility features, which at the moment are only on select pages but will be roll out to all pages on the website where needed. Less important but still big update is I've started hosting fanlistings!

5. I finished my Christmas shopping early and got presents for my parents, my little brother, and my cats!

Now, the accessibility features were something I have wanted to implement for a while on my website, but the problem I had was a lack of Javascript experience. I've learned just enough Javascript now that I can implement pretty basic codes on the site, and so I felt it was time for me try implementing things like toggling gifs on and off, and Javascript alerts for the graphics media pages warning the viewer of flashing graphics. I will also be writing alt text for photos that display important information and gallery pages, as I want those who use screenreaders to be able to access my site as well. I also plan on making mobile accessible versions of pages on my website.

These features will ALL take a long time to roll out but it will be worth it to me. I care a lot about accessibility on the web as someone who is neurodivergent and has chronic migraines, the latter of which can be very disabling when I'm browsing the web on a bad day and come across flashing and/or bright graphics without warning.

(Guys, I love the work people do here on Neocities, but seriously. PUT WARNINGS ON YOUR SITE IF YOU HAVE A TON OF FLASHING GRAPHICS!!!! Give people some kind of option to opt out!)

I think I've said enough there for that topic. Now... onto other things!

I'm excited for Christmas this year! New Years very much so too, my mom always makes this amazing 3 course fondue dinner on New Years and this year for the coq au vin fondue she said she could get shrimp to cook in it for me and my dad! I'm itching so badly for my fall semester to be over. So much so that I've started slacking off, which uh... doesn't bode well. But regardless, I'm excited about the Holidays!

I'm not excited about the work I need to do though... dear god... so much work...



(And it isn't even that much. I'm being totally dramatic.)

MOOD: TIRED.
WATCHING: Let's Plays
WEEKEND PLANS: Cram to work on my unfinished classwork

< --- BLOG